PACRU RULE SUMMARY
MOVEMENT: You move a chevron in one of three directions. Move it straight ahead, or forwards at a 45 degree angle to the direction the chevron was pointing. After a move, leave the chevron pointing in the direction you've moved it. This is the only way that chevrons move from field to field.
BORDERLAND CHANGE: When you move a chevron across one or more borders, and set your chevron down in a different borderland (a border crossing) then you place a marker of your colour on one of the neutral fields in this new borderland.
POWER OF MOVEMENT: Count the markers of your colour in the borderland and that number is the power of movement of the chevron. If there are no markers, the power of movement is one. You can move that particular chevron any number of fields between one and its power of movement.
LONG MOVE: When you move your chevron more than one field (a long move), you cannot change direction in the middle of the move. You must move in a straight line (directly ahead, or ahead at 45 degrees). At the end of the move leave the chevron pointing in the direction you have moved it.
WHAT IS FORBIDDEN:
Except for a connection jump You may not jump over any chevron
Except for a pincer You may not move onto a field occupied by a chevron
You may not move onto a marker that is another player’s colour
You may not change a field that is occupied by a chevron
CONNECTION CHANGE: When you make a long move from one marker of your colour to another marker of your colour (a connection), and you are not jumping any chevrons, you must change all the intervening fields to your colour. If this connection is also a border crossing then you must choose either to gain markers from the connection change or from the results of the border crossing: you cannot claim both benefits.
CONNECTION JUMP: When you move from one marker of your colour to another marker of your colour, you are allowed to jump any intervening chevrons. However when you make a connection jump, you do not make a connection change and so no intervening fields are changed.
BORDERLAND TRANSFORMATION: When you set your chevron down having crossed a border, if there are no neutral fields (whether occupied by a chevron or not) left in the new borderland, then you change any field within the borderland to your own colour.
PINCER: When a chevron has a power of movement such that it could reach a field occupied by an opposition chevron, and there are no intervening chevrons, then it is said to be attacking that chevron. You can make a pincer when two or more of your chevrons are already attacking an opponent’s chevron at the start of your turn. In the pincer you remove the opposing chevron from the board, change the field it was on to your colour, and move one of the attacking chevrons onto the field. The pincer can be done even when the opponent’s chevron is occupying a field of their colour.
MEETING: When you move a chevron so that you have two of your chevrons both occupying fields of your colour and directly facing each other on adjacent fields you have achieved a meeting. As a result of the meeting you change any field anywhere on the board to your own colour.
ONE MOVE - MANY ACTIONS: When you make a move involving any one of the six special actions, the move may also involve another at the same time (a pincer may also be a borderland change). You get the benefits of each action, except for moves which are both borderland crossings and connections where you have to choose between the marker benefit for the crossing and that of any connection change.
REORIENT: You can use your turn in a different way and instead of moving one chevron, you can reorient one chevron. When you reorient a chevron by 45 degrees, you must choose two of your own markers and take them off the board. When you reorient by 90 degrees, you must choose four of your markers to take off the board. You can only use a turn to reorient if you have one or more chevrons you could move if you chose to: if none of your chevrons can make a move from one field to another you are out of the game.
LOSING & WINNING: A player is out of the game if they lose their last remaining chevron. A player is out of the game if, on their turn, none of their remaining chevrons can move from field to field (this is called a blocked turn). In this case all their chevrons are removed from the board. You can win the game in any of these ways: you are the only player with chevron(s) left on the board or you reach the target number of markers (for 2 players 42 markers, 3 players 28, 4 players 24)